#### Municipal District of Muinebheag

# Adopted Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Municipal District of Muinebheag held on Friday, 14<sup>th</sup> June 2019 at 3.00 pm in the Meeting Room, McGrath Memorial Hall, Muinebheag

Members present: Cllr Michael Doran, Cllr Andy Gladney, Cllr Tommy Kinsella,

Cllr Arthur McDonald & Cllr William Quinn (Cathaoirleach).

**In Attendance:** Dan McInerney, Director of Services,

Maria Ahearne, Senior Staff Officer/Meeting Administrator.

\_\_\_\_\_

The outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr Quinn, chaired the beginning of the meeting. He reflected on his year as Cathaoirleach and thanked his fellow Councillor's for their support, adding that the number in the Muinebheag area is now down to 5 Members. The Cathaoirleach wished Cllr John Murphy and Cllr Charlie Murphy well in their new area, whilst paying tribute to former Cllr Foley. Members congratulated Cllr Quinn for his dedication to the Municipal District of Muinebheag and his achievements during his year, giving special mention to his role on the 'Borris Our Vision Plan' and for his initiative in relation to the Cathaoirleach awards. Special words of tribute were voiced for former Councillor Denis Foley who had not been successful in being re-elected. The Director of Services thanked Cllr Quinn for his dedication to the role as Cathaoirleach and extended his sympathies on the death of his father-in-law during the year, adding it was a pity not to have Cllr Foley and Cllr Deane re-elected. Mr McInerney then congratulated the Members on their recent re-election and welcomed Maria Ahearne as Meeting Adminstrator.

Mr McInerney then proceeded to read SI No 610 of 2018 – County of Carlow Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018, adding that the County of Carlow Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (SI No 40 of 2014) is now revoked. Section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (no 37 of 2001) having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (SI No

#### Municipal District of Muinebheag

473 of 2017) hereby outlining how the County Of Carlow shall be divided into 3 electoral areas, Carlow (7 members), Muinebeag (5 members) & Tullow (6 members).

The Muinebheag Local Electoral Area is to cover the electoral divisions of Agha, Ballyellin, Ballymoon, Ballymurphy, Borris, Clogrenan, Coonogue, Corries, Fennagh, Garryhill, Glynn, Killedmond, Kyle, Leighlinbridge, Marley, Muinebeag Rural, Muinebeag Urban, Nurney, Oldleighlin, Rathanna, Rathornna, Ridge, Sliguff and Tinnahinch.

#### 1. Election of Cathaoirleach

The Members congratulated the outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr Quinn for his dedication to the Municipal District of Muinebheag.

Cllr Quinn then invited Members to consider the election of the Cathaoirleach for the new term 2019/2020.

**Resolved** on the proposal of Cllr Doran, seconded by Cllr McDonald that Cllr Kinsella be elected as Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Kinsella then took over the chair as Cathaoirleach, thanked the members for their support and said he was committed to working for the electorate area. All Members and the Director of Services extended their congratulations to Cllr Kinsella.

#### 2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

The Members then considered the election of the Leas Cathaoirleach.

**Resolved** on the proposal of Cllr Doran, seconded by Cllr Kinsella that Cllr McDonald be elected as Leas Cathaoirleach

Cllr McDonald thanked the members for their support and said he was looking forward to working for the Muinebheag area, which historically is the oldest elected council in Carlow. All Members and the Director of Services extended their congratulations to Cllr McDonald.

## 3. Standing Orders of the Municipal District of Muinebheag

The Members asked that this matter be listed for discussion at the July meeting before submitting to the Corporate Policy Group (CPG) for further consideration.

#### Municipal District of Muinebheag

### 4. Fixing of date of meetings for 2019/2020

The Members set the next meeting date for July 4<sup>th</sup> and asked for that the full schedule be agreed at the July meeting.

# 5. Any other business

A number of items raised by Members were addressed by the Director of Services and Meeting Administrator.

This concluded the business of the meeting.			
Signed:	Cathaoirleach	Date:	
Signed:	Meetings Administrator	Date:	