# Minutes of Annual Meeting of Carlow County Council held in the G. B. Shaw Theatre, Visual, Old Dublin Road, Carlow on Monday 14<sup>th</sup> June, 2021 at 2.30p.m.

.....

**In Attendance:** Councillor T. O'Neill (Cathaoirleach)

Councillor F. Browne Councillor J. Cassin Councillor A. Dalton Councillor M. Doran Councillor T. Kinsella Councillor A. McDonald Councillor C. Murphy Councillor J. McDonald Councillor K. Murnane Councillor W. Paton Councillor J. Pender Councillor F. Phelan Councillor W. Quinn Councillor J. Murphy Councillor A. Wallace Councillor B. O'Donoghue Councillor A. Gladney

**Guests:** Family of Cllr. Fintan Phelan

**Executives** Ms. K. Holohan, Chief Executive

In Attendance: Mr. M. Rainey, Director of Service, Corporate, HR, Planning,

Health & Safety, Security & Economic Development

Mr. P. O'Gorman, Director of Service, Transportation, Environment

& Water Services, Building Control & Emergency Services Mr. M. Brennan, Director of Services, Housing, Community,

Recreation & Amenity

Mr. P. Delaney, Head of Finance

Mr. K. Comerford, Head of Local Enterprise Office

Mr. B. O'Donovan, Senior Executive Officer, Community

Mr. E. Brophy, Senior Executive Officer, Corporate Services

Ms. L. O'Callaghan, Administrative Officer, Corporate Services

Mr. P. Curran, Facilities Manager

Ms. T. Hickson, A/Staff Officer, Corporate Services

Councillor T. O'Neill the outgoing Cathaoirleach welcomed all present to the Annual General Meeting of Carlow County Council, the first physical return of Council meetings in 2021.

He spoke of the challenges faced throughout his tenure because of the pandemic, and wanted to remember those who had lost loved ones, but also to recognize the remarkable efforts of frontline workers everywhere. Some may have said that it was an unfortunate year to hold the chair but he disagreed and said he was honoured to be a part of a community which came together to support each other. He highlighted the many wonderful events he attended during his time as Cathaoirleach, including the announcement of 'Project Carlow 2040', €20m funding secured through Urban Regeneration and Development Fund (URDF), and the fantastic work being carried out by the Local Enterprise Office, including the Enterprise Hubs, and Carlow Water Hub along the river Barrow. He vowed to continue his push to get a 'blueway' for the county.

Cllr. T O'Neill thanked his family for all their support as a Councillor with Carlow County Council and during his year as Cathaoirleach. He also thanked his Leas Cathaoirleach Cllr. J. Murphy for all his help and support. He thanked the Chief Executive, the four directors of Carlow County Council and all staff from the various departments, Eamonn Brophy, Senior Executive Officer, Corporate Services, and Head of Enterprise, Kieran Comerford, for all their advice and guidance throughout his year. He concluded his appreciation by thanking all his fellow Councillors.

#### 1.0 Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor A. Dalton said it was an honour for her to propose Councillor Fintan Phelan as the Cathaoirleach of Carlow County Council.

Proposed by Councillor: Cllr. A. Dalton Seconded by Councillor: Cllr. A. McDonald

Councillor A. Wallace said it would give her great pleasure to propose Councillor J. Cassin as the Cathaoirleach of Carlow County Council.

Proposed by Councillor: Cllr. A. Wallace Seconded by Councillor: Cllr. W. Paton

As two councillors were proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach of Carlow County Council a role call took place as follows;

#### A roll call vote was taken

Member of Carlov County Council	v For	Against	Abstain	Absent
Fergal Browne	FP			
John Cassin		JC		

Andrea Dalton	FP		
Michael Doran	FP		
Andy Gladney		JC	
Thomas Kinsella	FP		
Arthur McDonald	FP		
John McDonald	FP		
Ken Murnane	FP		
Charlie Murphy	FP		
John Murphy	FP		
Brian O'Donoghue	FP		
Tom O'Neill	FP		
William Paton		JC	
John Pender	FP		
Fintan Phelan	FP		
William Quinn		JC	
Adrienne Wallace		JC	

This resulted in thirteen Councillors voting in favour for Cllr. F. Phelan being elected as Cathaoirleach, and five Councillors voting in favour of Cllr. J. Cassin being elected as Cathaoirleach.

The votes in favour of Cllr. F. Phelan being elected Cathaoirleach of Carlow County Council exceeded the votes of Cllr. J. Cassin.

Cllr. Fintan Phelan was deemed elected in accordance with Section 37 (b) of the Local Government Act, 2001.

Taking the chair, Cllr. Fintan Phelan thanked his proposer and seconder, fellow Councillors for putting their trust in him and electing him to the position of Cathaoirleach. He said it was an immense honour to be elected as Cathaoirleach of Carlow County Council, and first citizen of our great county, a county that he loves dearly and one that he is very proud to come from. He spoke of his great great-grandmother and his family's deep roots in the county. He thanked his family for all

their support. He said he was proud to be the youngest ever Cathaoirleach of Carlow County Council and wants to ensure that the ideas and innovative spirit and experience, of young and old, are heard.

The Chief Executive congratulated Cllr. F. Phelan on his election as Cathaoirleach and said she looked forward to working with him. She also thanked Cllr. T. O'Neill for his year in office, which was challenging, but appreciated all his support, and in particular, his support in the drafting of this year's budget, with so much uncertainty. Cllr. T. O'Neill was then presented with a memorabilia album to mark his year in office.

#### 2.0 Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach called for proposals for Leas Cathaoirleach and Cllr. J. McDonald was proposed by Cllr. J. Pender.

**Proposed by Councillor**: J. Pender **Seconded by Councillor**: K. Murnane

As there was no other proposal Councillor J. McDonald was deemed elected in accordance with Section 37 9b) of the Local Government Act, 2001.

#### 3.0 Dates of Council Meetings

Members had for consideration suggested dates for Council Meetings for the ensuing months to the next Annual Meeting.

## Proposed by Councillor: Seconded by Councillor: And

Following a show of hands it was unanimously resolved:-

<sup>&#</sup>x27;That the proposed dates for Council Meetings for the ensuing months to the next Annual Meeting are as follows:-

2021	July	-	12 <sup>th</sup>
	September	-	13 <sup>th</sup>
	October	-	11 <sup>th</sup>
	November	-	8 <sup>th</sup>
	December	-	13 <sup>th</sup>
2022	January	-	10 <sup>th</sup>
	February	-	14 <sup>th</sup>
	March	-	14 <sup>th</sup>
	April	-	11 <sup>th</sup>
	May	-	9 <sup>th</sup>
	June	-	13 <sup>th</sup>

### 4.0 Any Other Business

Members agreed a date of 30<sup>th</sup> August 2021 at 2.0 p.m. to discuss the Local Property Tax

This concluded the business of the meeting.